Green Fingers – Day 28

As I mentioned in an earlier blog post, I have a few mini projects that I’m doing to keep myself occupied. For those of you who know me, I like to make money and save when I can. Prior to arriving in Japan, I was told that fruits and vegetables are expensive (particularly expensive this year as it was a very hot summer and combined with typhoons = bad harvest) so I decided to take matters into my own hands. What better way to ensure I get my vegetable intake for the day by GROWING MY OWN VEGETABLES!

Yes, you heard me right.

Welcome to Olivia’s Vegetable Patch!

Growing Spinach

Growing Spinach

I was a bit skeptical about the whole thing and I didn’t want to mention it beforehand in case the seeds never sprouted, but to my surprise they did!

Beans

Beans

I’m going to have to look up how to cultivate these properly so I do get some edible products at the end. It’s nice to know that I can grow plants by myself (I have a reputation for letting things die back home…) so I’m going to try really hard to keep these alive. I will do another post when I’m going to harvest the fruits of my labour!

This entry was published on October 10, 2013 at 12:32 am. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Green Fingers – Day 28

  1. Woah there!! Where did you get the seeds? I need in on this, veggies are totally eating my budget ^_^

  2. Pingback: Christmas Is Nigh – Day 93 | Olivia In Japan

Leave a Reply

