18 months later, we met for pancakes in Shinjuku – Day 95

More than a year later, I finally got to meet up with my friend Emiko today for a pancake lunch in Shinjuku.

When my friends asked me what I was doing this weekend, I said I was meeting up with a friend to have lunch in Shinjuku. Naturally, many thought that this friend was someone from the same university back home in London, or something like that. But Emiko and I met in the most unusual circumstances.

Slappy cakes, 7th floor Lumine Est, Shinjuku

Slappy cakes, 7th floor Lumine Est, Shinjuku

We actually met last summer, on the airplane coming back from Tokyo to London! We were sat next to each other throughout the whole journey (13hrs) and only towards the end did we decide to make conversation and find out more about each other! Not long afterwards we became friends on Facebook (the wonders of technology) and we hadn’t really spoken since we first met on the airplane.

Christmas decorations!

Christmas decorations!

Now that I’m in Japan, I messaged Emiko asking if she wanted to meet up, and almost 18 months later we finally got to see each other again for the second time! HAHAHA, pretty unusual story, right?

But it’s funny, we chatted for a good few hours as if we had known each other for a long time. Lunch was at Slappy Cakes, a pancake eatery in Lumine Est building in Shinjuku. We ordered a portion of Eggs Benedict and a triple chocolate pancake dish which we halved, so we both had something savoury and sweet to eat.

Deliciousness on a plate!

Deliciousness on a plate!

Emiko!

Emiko!

Afterwards we went shopping and looked around for a bit. It was incredibly busy, and I was a bit overwhelmed by the sheer number of people. It’s been a while since I went into central Tokyo and I had almost forgotten what city life was like as I’ve been living in Hitotsubashi Gakuen. I’m basically living out in the sticks (well in comparison to central Tokyo, the Kodaira area is practically old folk countryside) so I’m used to the quietness and the slow life, which is weird since I’ve always been a city girl. So many lights, so many shops, so many people!!

Outside Lumine Est

Outside Lumine Est

DSCF0975

Fortunately, Emiko said that there was a really good macaron shop inside the Lumine building so we went there for a sweet snack, and I was able to sit down and relax.

Sweets Galore

Sweets Galore

I had the Framboise flavoured one, and boy was it good! The filling was so fresh and the macaron was so soft and chewy! Yum!

Macarons!

Macarons!

It was then time for us to say goodbye and I returned home, happy and full of food! Thank you so much for a lovely day out, Emiko! Please come and visit me at the tearoom sometime in the New Year!  🙂

This entry was published on December 14, 2013 at 3:10 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “18 months later, we met for pancakes in Shinjuku – Day 95

  1. Oh my, Shinjuku must be the busiest part of Tokyo, mustn’t it? I wonder if I can cope the crowd when I am there. The foods look great, especially cakes! But do you miss mince pie? Yes, I have met people in odd circumstances and become good friends. Life is like a box of chocolates, isn’t it? (^-^)

    • It was so so busy, but I’m sure London is also pretty busy too so I’m sure you’ll be able to cope! 😀 I do miss mince pies! I haven’t seen them here at all… I’m tempted to make some myself but I might start with some Gingerbread men and if that goes well I’ll have a go at mince pies! Hope you’re well!

      • Yeah, I never see mince pies in Japan either. I don’t think many Japanese don’t even know what “mince” is! If they were not so fragile, I would bring a box of Mr.Kiplings to you. But I bet it would all mash up during transit. Can’t you find Gingerbread men in Japan? Surely, Starbuck should stock them. No? x

      • Aww that’s very kind of you to think about bringing me some mince pies anyway, THANK YOU 😀 Ah yes I’m sure you probably can buy some gingerbread men here, but they’re not that hard to make and it’ll be fun to make them with the people in my dorm! Even still, despite mince pies not being that popular here, all the bakeries are stocked with these interesting pastries so worst comes to worst I’ll buy a big box full of goodies and eat myself silly next week! Hahaha

Leave a Reply

