Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Day 99

The days are getting shorter, the temperature has dropped, my workload has increased.

Winter has arrived. And, it’s almost the end of term.

Weather Forecast - apparently it might snow tonight

Weather Forecast – apparently it might snow tonight

Next week is my final week of university for 2013. Unlike some other universities, I still have a few classes to attend and naturally I’ve been bombarded with all these assignments to be completed by next Friday. Since the weather has been a bit gloomy and wet, I’ve confined myself to my room these past few days in order to do as many of these reports/presentations as possible. I want to be able to enjoy myself from this Friday onwards as I have some Christmas parties to attend starting from this Saturday.

Here are just some random shots from the past few days:

I survived the spiciest bowl of ramen!

Before tucking into the spiciest bowl of ramen

On Sunday, I went to eat at the local ramen shop that’s practically next door to the tearoom. I’ve never been there before, but all the guys next door often go there to eat. As you all know, I love spicy food so I chose the spiciest bowl of ramen to eat. You have to pay 50 yen extra to add some spice to your noodles, so I decided to go for the spiciest option – 5 chillies!!

My belly felt like it was on fire for a bit HAHA

My belly felt like it was on fire for a bit HAHA

To be honest, I was disappointed as I was expecting tears to be streaming down my face. But all that happened was my belly became nice and warm inside – the dish definitely wasn’t worth the 5 chilli rating!! But nevertheless, it was still tasty!

Recently, this is what my desk has been looking like – cans of coffee drinks, cups of tea, stationary everywhere!

Trying my best to study

Trying my best to study

My friend Ken drew this lovely picture of me. It’s a very accurate drawing, and he really got the “British” essence.

Me in cartoon form

Me in cartoon form

This was tonight’s dinner that I cooked. I decided to treat myself and I got this piece of fish, can’t remember the name of it, but you can eat it raw (sashimi). Very filling meal indeed!

Sashimi and Spicy Miso Soup noodles with daikon

Sashimi and Spicy Miso Soup noodles with daikon

That’s it for now. I’m just going to plough through the work and hopefully I’ll have done most of it in time to enjoy the Christmas parties lined up! Until next time!

This entry was published on December 18, 2013 at 12:00 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Day 99

  1. A bowl of spicy ramen on a cold day! I wish if I have that option readily available in Shoreditch. You sound like my friend Fei. She loves chilli so much. Just looking at her eating makes me eyes water… (@_@;)

Leave a Reply

