Last post for 2013 – Day 112

I can’t believe it’s nearly the end of 2013!!

Since my last blog post I’ve been meeting up with friends for lunch and sorting out random bits and pieces.

Unfortunately, something bad happened recently.

My camera broke 😦

I won’t tell you the whole story, but I’ve contacted Fujifilm and I am going to the Tokyo repair center this weekend and hopefully I’ll be able to get it fixed for free. So I’ve only managed to take photos using my iPhone 3GS. The picture quality is awful but it’s better than nothing!

On Saturday the 28th, I met up with Atsuko to go shopping around Roppongi and have dinner with her friend Mitsuko. Atsuko is this incredible lady who is in her 80s, currently learning Spanish, has an English boyfriend, and likes hanging out with me, HAHAHA! If any of you know the app Line (it’s like WhatsApp), me and Atusko are friends and we message each other in Spanish. It’s a weird relationship.

Dinner at Mifune with Atusko and Mitsuko

Dinner at Mifune with Atusko and Mitsuko

Anyway, I really like hanging out with her – she knows so much and tells me all sorts of good things, like secret ice-cream places etc.

IMG_0180

Me and Mitsuko (a lady in her late 40s I think)

We had dinner at Mifune, this really traditional Japanese restaurant. The food was really good! The chef came out and showed us the fish that was on offer that evening – they were so big! We didn’t have any dishes using any of the fish in the end.

IMG_0167

Locally sourced fish

On Sunday I decided to do some preparations for the New Year, like getting my hair cut! I haven’t had it cut in AGES, and you could tell as my hair was getting so straggly and nasty. All in all I paid about £16 for my hair to be cut, washed and soaked in some treatment thing (see photo below) which is pretty cheap! Yay!

Chilling at the hairdressers

Chilling at the hairdressers

My hair is pretty short now – you’ll be able to see it in the next blog post hopefully!

Today, I met up with Aljoscha and his friends for lunch near Sasazuka station. We went to this amazing restaurant for lunch that uses organic vegetables that are super tasty. They don’t really cook much of the ingredients as the vegetables don’t need to be cooked – that’s how tasty they are! We then went to have some cake afterwards.

Super healthy and tasty veggie plate

Super healthy and tasty veggie plate

Last night, one of Omar’s flat mates made his own salmon donburi, so I was determined this evening to make my own. After I got back I went grocery shopping and splashed out on raw fish, apples, and other bits and pieces. This was tonight’s dinner that I put together!

Olivia's donburi set - with apples for dessert!

Olivia’s donburi set – with apples for dessert!

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve and I haven’t quite decided what I’m going to do yet. I’m meeting up with Atsuko to go shopping with her daughter AND granddaughter at 10am on New Year’s Day so I’m not sure if I’m going to go clubbing tomorrow or not, but we’ll see.

Hope you’re all going to have a fun time celebrating the New Year! See you in 2014!!

Bye Bye 2013, Hello 2014

Bye Bye 2013, Hello 2014

This entry was published on December 30, 2013 at 2:26 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Last post for 2013 – Day 112

  1. OMG THAT SOUNDS LIKE THE BEST RELATIONSHIP! They know so much I swear – far cooler to hang out with all that wisdom (and find out all the secret ice cream places)! 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. twnteo on said:

    Happy New Year to you, may 2014 brings you health, wealth, peace, love,joy and success……and achieve all that you strive for………xxxoooo….I had no one to help me to get dinner ready yesterday and we were running late….and I said to myself if Oli was here!!…..

  3. twnteo on said:

    Hope your camera will be repairable….especially when you just bought it…maybe they will exchange it but make sure it will be suitable to use back here etc….weather condition, humidity etc might affect the inside of it….

    • Happy New Year to you too!! I should be able to get it fixed for sure – my dad scanned in my warranty booklet that I left behind so I think everything will be alright! Miss you so much! xoxo

Leave a Reply

