Cycling around Tokyo – Day 131

Today I feel like I did something really crazy, but I’m so proud of myself for doing it.
I cycled. Into central Tokyo. 22km one way. 3 and a half hours of continuous cycling in total.

I’m tired.

BUT I SAVED MONEY!! Hahaha I’m so stingy.

The reason why I had to go into central Tokyo was to pick up my camera from the FujiFilm Repair Centre near Ikebukuro station. Today was a school holiday because of the university entrance exams, so I had time to cycle.
I thought it would be a great way to exercise since I wanted to go to the gym after picking up my camera, and I just thought “Why not just cycle there? Kill two birds with one stone?”

On ma chari!!

On ma chari!!

Googlemaps said to walk from Hitotsubashi Gakuen Station to Ikebukuro station would take 4.5 hrs but I managed to cycle there in about 1hr and 35mins.

The route - very straightforward!

The route – very straightforward!

It was actually a really pleasant journey because it was great to see the change from rural countryside, to bustling capital city. The roads got a bit more crazy as I headed further into the city but there were loads of people cycling around so it was comforting to know that I wasn’t the only one cycling on the pavement.

Testing out my camera to make sure it works

Testing out my camera to make sure it works

After picking up my camera I decided to head for some lunch. I already looked up this vegan cafe that I wanted to try out, called ToriToriNoki – I love veggies plates so I wanted to see what this cafe’s lunch menu was like. Unfortunately, they weren’t serving meals today, only cakes and juice, so I had that instead. If I’m being honest, there was so much writing on the menu that I just asked the waitress to recommend which ones were the best and I had that!

Cute vegan cafe near Meiji Dori

Cute vegan cafe near Meiji Dori

The cafe had a really rustic feel to it, which I really liked. Everything was simple, no frills or anything like that.

Just the menu - so cute!

Rustic menu – all hand written!

I ended up eating some choux pastry thing, where the cream was actually made from tofu and the bottom half of the pastry had been soaked in some rum. The “drink” I ordered was more like honey – very sweet and thick. I think it was made from prunes? I don’t know but it was still good anyway! Everything tastes good after you’ve been working out and you’re hungry!

Cake and "Juice"

Cake and “Juice”

Cute little toothpick label!

Cute little toothpick label!

I then decided to head back. It was tempting to go shopping and just cycle around but I was already a bit tired and I knew if I did a detour, I would end up knackered and potentially not being able to make it back home….

But here are some random photos that I took while I was cycling there and back.

Huge kimono shop with a Huge poster

Huge kimono shop with a Huge poster

Random tall building

Random tall building

On my way back I picked up some food from the supermarket. I came across some funny things, like this packet of Rye Flour that had “Rather Rough” in brackets written on the front. I thought it was pretty funny hehehe!

Funny label

Funny label

I treated myself to some half price crab for my dinner. Still a bit expensive but I felt I deserved it after all that cycling!

Crab and seaweed salad!

Crab and seaweed salad!

I’ve just taken a shower and I’m all ready for bed. Now that I know how long it takes me to cycling into central Tokyo, I’m tempted to do it again when I’m meeting people for lunch etc.

Also, just some random info regarding things that happened earlier on this week. Apart from studying for exams and doing essays & presentations, one of my part time jobs has now ended. I mentioned in an earlier post I was working as an interpreter at a primary school for an Australian boy who was here in Japan for 3 months. Sadly, he is going back to Australia in 2 weeks time and this week was his last week at school in Japan. I asked him if he’s sad, and he said he’s not. HAHA! He can’t wait to see his friends again and get back to the hot weather (so jealous!). His mum actually wrote me a letter in Japanese, thanking me for my help, and gave me a box of Australian Shortbread! VERY tasty indeed! Definitely ate the whole pack by myself…..

Little Mr Robinson

Little Mr Robinson

Bye Bye Matthew!

Bye Bye Matthew!

Recently, I’ve been making curry for dinner as it is pretty filling as well as tasty. Also, when I make curry there are always leftovers, which means I save time as I don’t have to cook again. I made some Thai Green Curry the other night – there were no leftovers as I had seconds, because it was so delicious. I think my mum would be proud of me 🙂

Thai Green Chicken Curry!

Thai Green Chicken Curry!

That’s it for now! Term is almost coming to an end, but I’ve still got a few more essays to write before I can completely relax.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on January 17, 2014 at 12:18 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Cycling around Tokyo – Day 131

  1. You got some lovely photos while out and about. That cafe looks very nice. What a simple but lovely thing to put a happy message on a toothpick. I love the service in Japan and the consideration they give to paying customers. What a great cycle and brilliant time you did it in. I cycle a lot now, but just short distances. I usually have at least one child on the mamachari, so it’s not that easy to go far, but its a great workout!! 🙂

    • Thanks for your lovely comment! Yes I find customer service here is generally a lot better than back home. I really am in awe of mothers who cycle with their children on the mamachari!! Wow, that must take skill!! I feel a bit unbalanced when I’m cycling back with groceries in my basket (not used to the extra weight), so I can’t imagine what it must be like to cycle with kids on the bicycle!

      • haha, I was very shaky at the start on the mamachari too! It did take some getting used to. But its a heavier bike and designed in such a way that its harder to fall over. the kids love it though, lots of “wheeeee”s and “yeaaaahh”s 🙂

  2. pnwcyclist on said:

    懐かしい!Thanks for sharing. It made me want to go back to Tokyo!

    • I never used to cycle much before I came to Japan, but now I can’t imagine my life without my bicycle! 😀 Tokyo is a really nice place to cycle- very accessible and cyclist friendly, in comparison to London anyway!

  3. Your bike ride sounds so fun. I’ve always wanted to rent a bicycle in Japan and pedal around and see the sights. The little boy you were working as an interpreter for is so cute, so funny how he said he wouldn’t miss Japan. I remember when I went to Japan as a kid I didn’t like it all that much either. Funny how I love it so much now!

    • Ah, if you get the chance do rent a bicycle – it really is so much fun! It’s amazing how all sorts of people ride bicycles here and I like the fact that it’s safe enough that you don’t have to wear helmets etc. And it’s a great way to exercise! 😀

Leave a Reply

