Super Cute Japan + 21 reasons why there are no good guys in Japan – Day 141

Look at those construction pole holders in the photo above! Aren’t they just super duper cute? I think it’s such a great idea – if you’re going to have something like that why not make it more aesthetically pleasing?  I was so distracted by it when I was cycling, I nearly crashed into another cyclist….

So today’s post is all about some cute stuff that I’ve seen recently (well, I mean today) as I’ve been doing a lot of shopping recently. There’s this really great shop called Loft which sells EVERYTHING! They sell your average household item but it’s 10 times cuter than normal:

You can have onigiri in the shape of penguins or the Shinkansen using these gadgets!

You can have onigiri in the shape of penguins or the Shinkansen using these gadgets!

Valentine’s day is such a big thing here and I was having a ball looking at all the cards/chocolates/gift boxes you can buy!

Front of the Valentine's day card

Front of the Valentine’s day card

Wahh! So cute!!

Wahh! So cute!!

They have loads of different types of cake mix boxes – I might buy one to try it and see if I can actually produce the goodies printed on the box.

Rainbow of cake mix boxes!

Rainbow of cake mix boxes!

Disney cards! I wanted to buy one so bad!

Disney cards! I wanted to buy one so bad!

When I went to the grocery shop today, they had these really cute oranges on sale too! They are soooo small! I’ve never seen such small oranges before. I’m not going to lie, but I wasn’t sure if you could eat the peel or not, because when I tried to peel it like a normal orange it was really difficult. So I ate one whole, rind and everything. Then I decided to look up how to eat these – turns out you do have to peel them! HAHAHA! But since the oranges are so small, the rind was so thin and it didn’t taste that bitter! Ah well, more fibre for me!

Cute oranges!

Cute oranges!

Now let’s talk about the second half of the title of this blog post. I wanted to buy some books to read to improve my Japanese and to keep myself occupied over the holidays, so I went to Book Off, a second-hand book store, and found this book. For those of you who can’t read Japanese, the title is “Why are there no good guys in Japan? 21 Reasons”.

No good guys in Japan? All 21 reasons why are written in here

No good guys in Japan? All 21 reasons why are written in here

Pretty interesting title, right? I have established that Japanese guys are not for me (which I will not go into detail here as it will take about 500 blog posts) but maybe the reasons why I don’t like them as much may be listed in this book!

Here are the reasons listed in Japanese

Here are the reasons listed in Japanese

So I’ve decided to list a few of my favourite reasons according to this book, for those of you who are interested! (Please bear with me, I’ve had to translate these so they might not be accurate! HAHAHA)

Reason 1: In the first place, the male population is decreasing

Reason 5: The odds of meeting an attractive guy are EXTREMELY low

Reason 6: Even if you meet a nice guy and get married, when you spend a long time together, you will no doubt get tired of him/lose interest in him!

Reason 11: They have bad figures/bodies

Reason 14: They are bad at sex

Reason 21: They have evil mothers

So there you have it, some of the reasons why there are no good guys in Japan according to some old Japanese male author. Will definitely let you all know how I get on with this book!

Aside from that, here are some random photos from the last few days. Been eating lots of yummy food – more veggie plates and sweet stuff! Yay!

Lunch at Cafe Topinambour - vegetarian restaurant using locally sourced veg!

Lunch at Cafe Topinambour – vegetarian restaurant using locally sourced veg!

Veggie plate! So tasty!

Veggie plate! So tasty!

Went to the Isetan food market again… couldn’t resist some sesame flavour ice-cream!

Sesame ice cream swirl! YEAHH

Sesame ice cream swirl! YEAHH

Also, the Tokyo City Mayor elections are coming up so when we came out of the shopping centre the other day,one of the candidates was telling everyone his policies, or something like that. There were SO many people listening to him.

You can see the candidate on the left, where the white/green flags are

You can see the candidate on the left, where the white/green flags are

So many people around

Huge crowd of people

That’s it for now! I’m actually on holiday now (bar one class on Friday, but that doesn’t really count!) so I’m freeeeee! Starting to plan some day trips/weekend trips around Japan now.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on January 27, 2014 at 10:20 am. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Super Cute Japan + 21 reasons why there are no good guys in Japan – Day 141

  1. I’ve taken very similar pictures of the pink rabbit construction barriers we have here, haha!

Leave a Reply

