Frozen Heart – Day 159

Happy Valentine’s day!!

To those of you who celebrate this commercial day, hope you’re having a good one!! It’s a rather cold one here in Kodaira as it started snowing again. Recently it has been quite cold and I haven’t been feeling well 😦

Valentine's Day - not very warm :(

Valentine’s Day – not very warm 😦

For those of you who don’t know, Valentine’s day in Japan is when only women are supposed to give chocolate to men, whether it be their boyfriend/colleague/boss/friend. The men reciprocate and give gifts to women on March 14th (known as White Day).

Anyhoo, Valentine’s day was an excuse for me to make chocolate since I love doing this kind of thing – getting creative and making food!

I had previously made chocolate using a teddy-bear mould that I bought from Loft a few weeks ago, and since it went relatively well I decided to do that again today!

First attempt at making chocolate!

First attempt at making chocolate a few weeks ago

I’m afraid there isn’t a recipe to go with this blog post because I didn’t follow one myself. I know when you make chocolate you should use a thermometer etc. but I don’t have one so I just winged it and just melted the chocolate in the microwave! I didn’t even weigh out the ingredients!! HAHA but it still turned out tasty!

Chocolate prep

Chocolate prep

For the first batch I made, I just smooshed some banana and melted some chocolate and decided that was going to be the filling. It was a bit runny but it tasted good!

Filling in the detail with edible chocolate pen, before the first coat of chocolate

Filling in the detail with edible chocolate pen, before the first coat of chocolate

Here’s what the Banana chocolate truffles looked like! A bit scruffy round the edges, but I don’t think it looked that bad from the front. The underside was a bit dodgy though as I couldn’t seal the bottoms neatly…

Banana Chocolate truffles! (sort of..)

Banana Chocolate truffles! (sort of..)

The next batch I made were Chocolate Orange ones. I just melted some chocolate, mixed in some Orange candied peel (from the 100yen shop), poured that into the mould, and that was it! I have to say that they tasted pretty good! The orange peel was soaked in some syrup so I think that gave the chocolate a softer, more ganache-like texture.

Chocolate Orange flavour! (the shell shaped ones)

Chocolate Orange flavour! (the shell shaped ones)

After all that chocolate making, there was a Valentine’s Party at the Plaza. They had all these super cute heart shaped balloons dotted across the ceiling.

Party Party!

Party Party!

Dressed in red :)

Dressed in red πŸ™‚

 

They even handed out chocolate to everyone!! I’m actually eating them right now while doing this blog post! Hehehe

Oh, here are a few photos from the farewell party the other week. Did I mention that I won a prize in the Bingo game? I won this HUGE box of oranges – Thank you, ISDAK!!

E Building food table!

E Building food table!

Japanese seminar group Bingo winners! Look at that box of oranges!! :O

Japanese seminar group Bingo winners! Look at that box of oranges!! :O

Bit of a random blog post, but I will be doing another one summarising what I’ve been up to this past week!!

Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on February 14, 2014 at 2:12 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Frozen Heart – Day 159

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day! I’m sorry to hear that you aren’t feeling well, I hear Tokyo has been getting massive amounts of snow. I hope you’ll feel better soon! Your teddy bear truffles were adorable, btw!

    • Aww thank you! I hope you had a happy Valentine’s day too! Did you do anything for Valentine’s Day? There’s been so much snow recently and apparently there’s meant to be more :S I’m feeling a lot better now, thank you! πŸ™‚

      • I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling better! It’s crazy how much snow Tokyo is getting. I hope you will manage to stay warm and healthy. As for Valentine’s Day, unfortunately, M was feeling sick so we didn’t get to go out to dinner like we’d originally planned. That’s OK, we go out to eat all the time anyways lol! And he still brought me some chocolate covered strawberries and a 1-pound box of Sees Chocolate Nuts and Chews. Those are my favorite chocolates in the world. I am trying to eat only one piece a day but it’s so hard!

Leave a Reply

