Olivia in Malaysia! – Day 171

Greetings from Sibu, Malaysia!

DSCF1446

(I know this blog is about my time in Japan, but I thought I’d blog about my time here anyway, otherwise there will be no new posts for over two weeks!)

I mentioned in my last post that I was going to Malaysia to see relatives since I’m on holiday. Here’s just a summary of what I’ve been up to this past week.

I left Japan last Thursday after my part time job and headed for Haneda airport. I originally thought I was going to Narita airport but luckily I double-checked as it was Haneda airport I had to go to! The flight was in the evening, about 8hrs from Tokyo to Kuala Lumpur.

Haneda Airport viewing deck

Haneda Airport viewing deck

I arrived in KL in the morning but had a 3/4hr transit time until my next flight out to Sibu which was around midday. I was very lucky that there were no major delays, the only one being that my flight from Tokyo to KL arrived half an hour later than it should have, but I had such a long transit time anyway so I was kinda glad as it meant less time hanging around in KL airport.

Chicken noodle soup for brunch at KL airport

Chicken noodle soup for brunch at KL airport

For those of you who don’t know, Sibu is located on the East side of Malaysia, on the island of Borneo. KL is on the West side of Malaysia so the flight took just under 2hrs.

Flight from KL to Sibu

Flight from KL to Sibu

The first thing that hit me when I arrived in KL was the heat. Compared to Japan, the temperature in Malaysia right now is almost 5 times hotter, and this stark contrast was something I hadn’t prepared myself for properly. I wore my thick winter coat until the end of the first aeroplane journey since it was still pretty cold in Japan (snow etc.) but I had to take it off straight away, as well as my jumper, when I arrived in KL.

Since I’ve been here, I haven’t been up to that much…. A bit of studying, a fair amount of lounging around, and a lot of eating – that’s my daily routine.

Delicious prawns and noodles!

Delicious prawns and noodles!

I’m really lucky to able to spend quality time with my grandma who is always getting me to try food that she’s made/bought.

Bucket full of jelly from an auntie

Bucket full of jelly from an auntie

In my grandma’s front garden there is a longan tree which is bearing lots of fruit right now, so almost every morning we’ve been outside picking them for me to eat for breakfast! Can’t get fresher fruit than that!

The longan tree

The longan tree

My breakfast :)

My breakfast 🙂

Taste-test to see if it's ripe enough to eat

Taste-test to see if it’s ripe enough to eat

I also learnt how to make these peanut-filled dumpling things from my grandma. It’s a bit like boiled mochi, with ground peanuts and brown sugar inside, so it has a really soft and chewy texture. Definitely going to make these back home and in my dorm! 

Glutinous rice balls with peanut filling

Glutinous rice balls with peanut filling

Yum!

Yum!

Even though I do like the heat more so than the cold, I haven’t been out much because it does get pretty hot during the day (30C+). However, I decided to venture out today and headed into town which is only 30mins away by foot. I only really had time to go to one shopping centre – Parksons – but it has 5 floors of shops so that was sufficient for today.

Parksons! Tallest building in Sibu apparently

Parksons! Tallest building in Sibu apparently

I didn’t buy anything, just did some window shopping. It was good to be out the house for a bit.

DSCF1457

That’s it for now! I’m going to see a film later with my aunt, a local production called “Huat Ah! Huat Ah! Huat”. I will be here in Malaysia until next Thursday so hopefully I can get another blog post done for next week.

DSCF1455

Thanks for reading!

 

This entry was published on February 26, 2014 at 5:49 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Olivia in Malaysia! – Day 171

  1. I’m sure it’s nice to get away to somewhere that’s warm after all the snow in Tokyo! I hope you’re having a fabulous time, your grandmother must be so happy to have you staying with her. All the food in your post looks so good, especially that prawn noodle soup!

    • Thank you! It’s been great spending time with family and to be less hooked on the Internet hahaha!
      Have you ver been to Malaysia?

      • No, I’ve never been to Malaysia, I’d love to go someday! Besides Japan, the only other country we’ve been to in Asia is Hong Kong. We’ve said that from now on whenever we go to Japan we should take a side trip to another Asian country. Malaysia is definitely at the top of our list, we’d probably do it in conjunction with Singapore.

Leave a Reply

