Good Morning Mt. Fuji! (Kawaguchiko & Hakone) – Day 219

My family came to Japan this week for the first time for a holiday, during my year abroad. I was lucky enough to join them for a few days in between my university classes. One of the places we visited was Kawaguchiko, which is where the second largest lake of the Five Fuji Lakes is located (Lake Kawaguchiko).

We stayed at this beautiful Japanese-style inn (a ryokan) which had the most incredible view of Mt. Fuji. Here are some shots from our window.

Early in the morning (6am?)

Early in the morning (6am?)

Mid morning shot

Mid morning shot

The itinerary for that day was jam-packed so it was a good thing we had a big breakfast!

Japanese style breakfast - there was more food that came later

Japanese style breakfast – there was more food that came later

First stop for the day was a visit to Kawaguchiko Music Forest. It’s the world’s largest music box museum that has a lot of old style music boxes and automatic musical instruments.

Museum entrance

Museum entrance

DSCF1797

Pamphlet and ticket

Pamphlet and ticket

I’ll be honest, it was very pretty and interesting but it kinda freaked me out. It’s like a weird “Shrek” style Disneyland theme park and it’s somewhere that I wouldn’t want to go there alone, especially at night.  They have music performances throughout the day that are played by these automatic machines and it’s a bit creepy hahaha

Automatic Organ

Automatic Organ

Fair ground organ

Fair ground organ

We didn’t stay very long since it’s a very western-style museum and there isn’t really much else to do apart from listening to music performances.

My brother and my dad

My brother and my dad

Water fountain performance

Water fountain performance

Cute flowers

Cute flowers

The next stop was Owakudani in Hakone, which is a volcanic alley that has lots of sulphuric hot springs. To get there we took the cable car (Hakone Ropeway).

Inside the cable car

Inside the cable car

Owakudani is famous for Kur0-Tamago, or Black egg. These are eggs that are cooked in the hot springs and due to some chemical reactions, the egg shells turn black. I was lucky enough to eat one and it tasted like a normal egg, but legend has it that eating one of these black eggs can prolong your life by an extra 7 years!

By the sulphuric hot springs

By the sulphuric hot springs

Black egg!

Black egg!

The final two stops for the day were a boat trip round lake Ashi, and shopping at Gotemba Premium Outlet. I was too busy enjoying the boat trip to take photos but I managed to get one before we boarded the ship.

Pirate-esque ship!

Pirate-esque ship!

The day ended with dinner and more time in the onsen at the ryokan we were staying at. I’ve got another blog post lined up on what we did the day before in Kamakura, so stay tuned for that!

Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on April 15, 2014 at 3:54 am. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Good Morning Mt. Fuji! (Kawaguchiko & Hakone) – Day 219

  1. Hi. I am planning to stay in a ryokan near kawaguchi lake. Can i know if you have any idea how to get to owakudani from the lake area? And approximately how long is the journey.

    • Hello!

      Thank you for your comment! I’m afraid I don’t know how to get to Owakudani from the lake area – when I was there with my family we had a tour guide and coach that took us to our destinations. I’m sure you could ask the ryokan you are planning to stay at how to get there – most ryokans have a coach service, or will be able to tell you how to get around. There are local bus services and trains, but the ryokans can organise a taxi for your if there isn’t any public transport nearby.

      Sorry I couldn’t answer your question, but they are so friendly in Japan so I think you’ll be alright 🙂 Have a great time!

  2. Can you kindly share the name of the Ryokan?

Leave a Reply

