The land of sakura, Chichibu (Spring! Weekly Photo Challenge)- Day 238

The first place I visited over the Golden Week holiday was Chichibu, Saitama. One of my customers from the tearoom I work at recommended going to Chichibu as it is famous for Shibazakura (moss phlox) that only bloom around this time of the year.

UPDATE: I just noticed that this week’s photo challenge is on Spring, so I’ve decided to enter this post as I think it fits this week’s theme perfectly!

Map of Chichibu

Map of Chichibu

From Hitotsubashigakuen station it took us nearly 2hrs to get there but it was worth the journey.
In Chichibu there is a park called Hitsujiyama where you can see all these gorgeous pink flowers that cover the ground like sakura petals, making it look like pink grass.

DSCF1852
We went on Saturday and the place was packed! There were so many people taking photos, especially selfies!

DSCF1842

It’s such a beautiful sight as the colours are so vivid and there are all sorts of shades of pink and purple.

DSCF1864

DSCF1867

I did what everyone else was doing, which was taking lots of photos of myself next to the flowers. Luckily, I had a friend to help me to take photos so here they are!

DSCF1845

DSCF1856As well as the flowers, there were several food areas and a market where you could get finger food like yakitori, okonomiyaki, ice cream, shaved ice etc. I bought myself a sakura flavoured ice cream and it tasted pretty good! It actually tasted like red-bean flavour (anko) and it wasn’t flowery at all so I was disappointed but relieved at the same time.

Sakura flavoured ice cream!

Sakura flavoured ice cream!

Despite the hot weather, it was a fantastic day out. I thoroughly recommend visiting Chichibu, so if you are in Japan at the moment you should definitely go there! You do have to pay to get into the park, but it only costs 300 yen so it’s not expensive. I feel so lucky that I was able to see these flowers as they are only in bloom for a few weeks.

DSCF1850

More blog posts to follow!

P.S Click here more info on this week’s photo challenge!

Thanks for reading!!

This entry was published on May 4, 2014 at 10:43 am. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “The land of sakura, Chichibu (Spring! Weekly Photo Challenge)- Day 238

  1. What an amazing blaze of pink !

  2. Soooooo lovely, great! 🙂

  3. Wow, how very beautiful. Never heard of the place or the flower so double-learning!

  4. What a beautiful place! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

