Eat, Sleep, Study, Party, and repeat – Day 248

I guess the title of this blog summarises what I’ve been up to since the end of Golden Week.
I’ve been doing a lot more self-studying, excluding classwork/homework, as I’m taking the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) at the beginning of July and I really want to pass that. I’m only aiming for N2, which is supposedly business level Japanese, and maybe in my fourth year I might take N1 which is supposedly native level.

The crows that flock to my university are pretty big and scary...

Random photo of the crows that hang around at Hitotsubashi university

Having said that, there was a music party that was held at the dorm last weekend. That was a lot of fun and even though it was called a music party, it was more of a dance party haha.

So to keep me going through all this studying and partying, I’ve been eating a lot of food! As you can see from the main photo above, I’m trying to eat as much sushi as possible (when finances allow) because it recently dawned on me that my time left in Japan is running out. The sushi set above is actually from the supermarket and it reminds me of how bad the supermarket sushi sets are back home in the UK. Because of that, I treat myself to a bit of sushi like this every now and then!

Also, as you may have noticed from my other posts, I love ice cream. The crazier the flavour, the better! Haagen Dazs in Japan is always coming up with new flavours so I bought their latest product which is a vegetable line up! Yes, they have Tomato and Cherry flavour ice cream, and Carrot and Orange flavour. I bought the Tomato and Cherry flavour and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. You can taste the tomato and cherries in it, and I know the combination sounds weird but some people like drinking tomato juice so maybe it’s not actually that unusual.

ICE CREAM!

ICE CREAM!

The weather is getting a lot warmer and it was about 27°C today. I’m feeling the humidity now and it’s not pleasant cycling to university in this heat. I actually give myself more time to cycle now because I often turn up sweaty (ewww!) so by taking my time there’s a chance my eyeliner and mascara won’t be dripping down my face!

Bought some watermelon - great to eat on hot days

Bought some watermelon – great to eat on hot days

Despite the nice weather, I’ve been indoors studying for my JLPT exam at the university library. It seems that not everyone goes to the library to study – sleeping is also another popular thing to do there. I completely understand though, as it’s ever so quiet and it’s the perfect environment for napping. I actually did take a few naps on my textbooks last semester when I was doing my homework, but I’ve been really good this semester so far and not fallen asleep while studying!

Regular napper at the library

Regular napper at the library – notice the lack of shoes!

On a side note, this weekend I’m doing something super duper exciting and I’ll be writing about it in my next blog post. I’m taking part in Tokyo Night Walk where we are walking from Tokyo station all the way back to Kodaira. While absorbing the wonderful sights of Tokyo at night there will be missions that we have to complete, and the group with the most missions completed will win a prize!

I’m so psyched but apparently some of the groups last year took nearly 20hrs to walk back from Tokyo station.
20hrs…
I’m definitely getting an early night the day before!

Thanks for reading! Keep an eye out for my next blog post!

This entry was published on May 14, 2014 at 9:04 am. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Eat, Sleep, Study, Party, and repeat – Day 248

  1. This is an awesome read! I am still waiting for the time when Japan will offer a free-visa policy to Filipinos and I guess it will be by June this year! Your article is a good insight to first time travelers there. If you wish to visit the Philippines one day, you can probably check my website too for travel tips. Cheers! Keep traveling!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog post! Living in Japan as a student for one year is the first time I’ve ever lived away from home so writing about my experience is a great way of keeping the memories alive 🙂 I’m glad to hear that Japan will be offering a free-visa policy next month to Filipinos, you should come to Japan if you have the time. I’d love to visit the Philippines in the future so I’ll be following your blog!

  2. Hey!
    I’m so sorry for the super late reply :S I thought I responded to it while I was on the train last week, but I guess it never got published… Sorry!
    I have to admit, the food here is so good – a bit pricey but very tasty! I sometimes feel a bit awkward always going to the supermarket to buy my meals but it’s a lot cheaper than going out and the food is pretty good, especially when they have sushi sets like this on sale 😀

    Aww, thank you so much! I’m glad to hear that you enjoy reading about my posts. If I had it my way I would literally just blog about everything I’ve been eating here hahaha!

    It’s so exciting that although my time here will be ending soon, yours will be starting not long afterwards! I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

