Festivals, Food and Fun – Day 267

It is officially the 1st day of June!
That means that I only have two months of classes left, which means my time here in Japan is nearly up.

I can’t believe how fast time is going by. I’ve got mid term exams this week so we’re already half way through this term which is a sign that things are coming to an end pretty soon.

Ahhhhh!!

I’m not ready to leave!

Anyway, I’m not leaving Japan until September so there’s still plenty of time left. For now, here’s a summary of this week!

The most notable event that happened this week was probably the Kodaira Festival that was held this weekend.

DSCF2055Similar to the Ikkyosai that I went to last semester, this was a school festival but a smaller scale version. There were dance performances, loads of food stalls, and plenty of fun activities to do.

DSCF2045

DSCF2044

One of the outdoor stages

One of the outdoor stages

I love going to these school festivals as the students run the food stalls and there’s always something interesting to eat. I want to try everything but my finances don’t allow that to happen so I spend a lot of time deciding what to eat. They had mochi waffles, senbei (rice cracker) sandwich thingies, takoyaki, gyoza etc.

DSCF2043

DSCF2042

Kebab wrap? Japanese style?

Kebab wrap? Japanese style?

Most of the societies/clubs had something going on, for example the Arts Society put on an exhibition displaying their artwork, and the Wrestling Society were showing a video of some of their wrestling matches. One of the societies though I wasn’t too sure what it is they do, but their room was full of second hand books and they were all FREE!! I didn’t take any as I honestly don’t think I was going to read it, but it’s a great concept.

FREE BOOKS!

FREE BOOKS!

We went to see my friend Jibba perform at the school festival – he’s in a band called コアラがかり (Koala Gakari) and they were really good! They were all wearing onesies which made it an entertaining performance.

Koala Gakari!

Koala Gakari!

On a different topic, the weather here is getting a bit ridiculous. This weekend was scorching and I think I’m going to have to put the air con on during the evenings as it’s still pretty warm and humid at night. However, with hot weather comes tropical fruit so the supermarkets have been stocked with loads of yellow kiwi, pineapples and mangoes. A little bit pricey but I love fruit so I buy some every now and then. I spotted these really cute pineapples. They’re meant to be really small (pichi).

Cute pineapples

Cute pineapples

One of the things I love about Japan is their love for sweet potato. Even though you don’t really eat it in the summer, I still buy baked sweet potato from the supermarket nowadays as it’s so yummy. Recently, I saw they had this sweet potato dessert, which is a whole sweet potato with a layer of cream at the bottom. It’s really really good!

Sweet potato dessert!

Sweet potato dessert!

See the bottom layer of cream? Delicious

See the bottom layer of cream? Delicious

I also tried this red bean (adzuki) cream filled sponge cake – a bit rich, but still pretty good! I also tried the new summer flavour pocky, as seen in the main photo for this blog post. Since the weather is pretty warm, eating sushi is quite refreshing so I’ve been buying more bento sets recently.

DSCF2022

More sushi!

More sushi!

On Tuesday, I went for a tour of a company called HDE. The CEO is an alumni of Hitotsubashi university so he invited some exchange students (ie. me and other people living in the dormitory) to see his company and eat pizza! It was sort of a networking event as there was a powerpoint presentation and while we were eating pizza we got to chat to the employees. They have this really cool vending machine which dispenses FREE Dr Pepper drinks so I had to take a photo of it.

ZERO YEN Dr Pepper!!

ZERO YEN Dr Pepper!!

 Since the summer holidays start in two months, I had to get my butt moving and start planning what I’m going to do. I decided to bite the bullet and booked my ticket to Okinawa!! Yay! I’m going to spend about 6 days there at the end of July/beginning of August. I’m really looking forward to going there because there are so many things I want to do, like go snorkelling etc. I have some other plans to travel to Nagasaki and potentially Hokkaido after visiting Okinawa, but nothing is set yet.

Okinawa - booked!

Okinawa – booked!

Anyway, that’s it for now! My next post after the Sumo Wrestling one was meant to be on the Leibster Award, but when I did my post on it for some reason the post wasn’t saved and I have to do it all over again 😦 That made me very upset as I couldn’t remember all my answers and I was really pissed off. So I’m afraid you’re going to have to wait for that post! Apologies!

Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on June 1, 2014 at 12:17 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

