Sea Life to Food for life – Day 314

Last Saturday was the 25th anniversary of Tokyo Sea Life Park (Kasairinkaikoen), and to commemorate the occasion, entry to the park was free! FREE!!

DSCF2357

FREE!!

FREE!!

As someone who never passes up anything that is free, I was super excited about going because I had never been there before.

Just outside Kasairinkaikoen station

Just outside Kasairinkaikoen station

Tokyo Sea Life is located right by Tokyo Bay to the southeast of Tokyo – it’s almost in Chiba as you can see Tokyo Disneyland from the park – so it’s pretty far away from where I live.

Since it was a Saturday, and because it was free, there were so many people and SO many children. I was a bit overwhelmed, and it didn’t help that it was really hot as well, but it’s lovely and cool inside.

Entrance to the aquarium

Entrance to the aquarium

I really like the main “building” of this aquarium as it looks like some observatory. The surrounding view is absolutely beautiful as you can see far into the distance, and it sort of feels like you’re at the beach.

DSCF2361

DSCF2363

The entrance to see all the fish etc. is inside this observatory-like building, and most of the exhibits are underground. I’ve been to a few aquariums in my life time, but I saw fish there that I’ve never seen before.

These are pretty big in real life

These are pretty big in real life

As expected, there were loads of tanks that were full of different types of sea life. One of the main features of this aquarium is the Deep Sea Theatre where you can watch all these huge tuna fish swimming around.

Deep sea theatre

Deep sea theatre

In addition to fish and invertebrates, they also have birds! You can see puffins and penguins outside, which was a nice bonus.

Penguins!

Penguins!

DSCF2396 DSCF2410

They were probably my favourite exhibition out of the whole aquarium.

DSCF2400

They even had a “petting” area where you can touch crabs, and other sea creatures.

I think you were allowed to touch these?

I think you were allowed to touch these?

After completing the tour of the aquarium, I walked around outside for a bit.

DSCF2383

DSCF2386

Just outside the park, they have various other attractions such as a ferris wheel, and a bird sanctuary. I wanted to get a better view of the coast so I went inside “Crystal View” which is a building that has a clear view of the area.

Crystal view building

Crystal view building

View from the top floor of Crystal View

View from the top floor of Crystal View

DSCF2416

Since it was still pretty early (2pm) I decided to head towards Japan’s largest urban Farmers’ Market in Kachidoki- Market of the Sun. It’s held on the second Saturday & Sunday of each month, where there are over 100 stalls, and apparently each month they feature a seasonal fruit/veg etc.

Market of the Sun

Market of the Sun

It wasn’t far from Tokyo Sea Life Park, so I headed there to look for something to eat.

DSCF2418

This event was also free (yes!) and there were plenty of food samples. All the fruits and vegetables seemed to be organic, and there were lots of unusual produce.

One of many free samples I tried

One of many free samples I tried

DSCF2423 DSCF2419

Everything was pretty pricey, but I guess you get what you pay for. I tried some mango, which was so sweet and juicy, but one mango could set you back over 1000 yen!! :O

Expensive mangoes

Expensive mangoes

Although I didn’t buy anything, I had tasted enough free samples to tide me over until I got home and cooked dinner.

Lots of cute food vans

Lots of cute food vans

It was a great day out, especially as I only spent money on transport. There are more matsuri happening in the next few days and I plan to go to at least one, but we will see- I have to save up for my trip to Okinawa!

Waiting for the train

Waiting for the train

Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on July 17, 2014 at 8:28 am. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

