Super Yosakoi 2014!! – Day 352

Video links included!

This weekend was the Harajuku Omotesando Genki Matsuri, also known as Super Yosakoi.

DSCF3225Yosakoi is a traditional sumer dance dating back from Kochi city in the 1950s. Over 5000 people took part in the two day event, and more than 100 teams danced through the streets.

DSCF3239

The music for each team blares out from these vans.

The music for each team blares out from these vans.

There were a few other dance festivals, like the Koenji Awa-Odori, also going on this weekend, but we decided to hit the Harajuku one as that started from 10am-5.30pm.

DSCF3251

Each team had mahoosive flags

Each team had mahoosive flags

This was a really big festival. The main parade was going down Omotesando avenue, but there were stages dotted all over the area. We decided to just focus on the parade.

Live singers on top of the van

Live singers on top of the van

Each team’s dance was different and the costumes were so colourful! The dancers looked like they were having a great time 🙂

DSCF3265 DSCF3267 DSCF3271

The number of people watching this parade was ridiculous. As was taking photos because EVERYONE wanted front row seats, but often the press/professional photographers were hogging the best views.

Cool guy, hitting something that sounded like a triangle

Cool guy, hitting something that sounded like a triangle

So I had to do a lot of zooming in when I was taking photos, and when I was going through the photos earlier I had to crop quite a few (we don’t want photos of other photographers, do we?).

DSCF3295

DSCF3300

I could have stayed there all day and watched the parade, but it was quite hot, and my legs were getting tired haha

Program of all the teams (sneaky photo taken from the lady standing next to me)

Program of all the teams (sneaky photo taken from the lady standing next to me)

If I had known about this, I would have loved to have taken part. It really looked like a lot of fun – maybe next time I’m in Japan?

DSCF3335

I actually took some videos, but I can’t upload them on here unless I pay for the video upgrade 😦 sorry! But I’ve included the YouTube video links down below 🙂

Having fun!

Having fun!

I will resume my Hokkaido trip blog posts from now on. I actually plan to do a bit of hiking tomorrow if the weather is nice, so expect another blog post!

Don’t forget to click HD when you watch the videos!

Video link 1

Video link 2

Video link 3

Stage near Harajuku station!

Stage near Harajuku station!

Thank you for reading!

This entry was published on August 24, 2014 at 9:57 am. It’s filed under Japan, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

