Food, and more food (Sapporo, Hokkaido) – 361

Here’s a blog post dedicated to all the food I ate while I was in Hokkaido. Well, it’s more a collection of the photos of food that I remembered to take before I started eating haha! Ironically, this is my 100th blog post and it is dedicated to food… story of my life!

On our first night, we went to a local izakaya and had some yakitori. This was honestly the best yakitori I’ve had since I’ve been in Japan. Everything was sooooo good!

Yakitori shop near our hotel

Yakitori shop near our hotel

Mochi with bacon and cheese wrapped round it. Then grilled!

Mochi with bacon and cheese wrapped round it. Then grilled!

Juicy chicken

Juicy chicken

On our second day, we had some Soup Curry! This is a speciality of Sapporo.

Our soup curry cooking before us

Our soup curry cooking in front of us

It’s basically a curry but the sauce is thinner so it’s like a thick soup. It was really good. I can imagine this being the perfect food to eat when it’s cold, which is probably why this dish is so popular in the northern parts of Japan.

DSCF3063 DSCF3064

The next day, as part of our bus tour to the Blue Pond and Tomita Farm, we had a set lunch made up of local ingredients. All the vegetables were seasonal and dessert was a slice of melon. The meat was literally melting in my mouth.

Lunch from the bus tour

Lunch from the bus tour

The following day, my brother said he wanted to eat crab and ramen. So I thought, why not try and find some crab ramen and kill two birds with one stone? We managed to find some crab ramen along Ramen Yokocho. There was so much going on in the bowl; meat, seafood, and oodles of ramen.

DSCF3178 DSCF3179

 On our final day, we had a buffet lunch where melon was the main feature. That part of Hokkaido is famous for melon, and since it is pretty pricey the buffet was a pretty good deal.

DSCF3180

Trying to sample everything - mixing dessert with savoury stuff haha

Trying to sample everything – mixing dessert with savoury stuff haha

DIY somen noodles

DIY somen noodles

Our final meal in Hokkaido was at the airport. They have a booklet dedicated to all the restaurants in the airport as well as all the souvenirs you can get! It’s a real foodie place. We settled on a cook-yourself BBQ restaurant, but we asked the waitress to help us to cook the first round. The staff encourage you to wear bibs so that you don’t get your clothes dirty, and they even provide plastic sheets for your bags!

The waitress helped us to cook the first bit...

The waitress helped us to cook the first bit…

So ready to eat!

The look of hunger!

For me, Hokkaido really does serve the best food out of all the places I’ve been to in Japan. My brother and I came up with the motto ” I’d have that again” which has become the catchphrase in relation to food in Hokkaido. Everything is just tastes a lot fresher and has more flavour.

My travels around Japan have now come to and end. I actually only have about 8 days left in Japan and I haven’t done that much packing so that’s what I’m going to be doing in the next few days. I’m going to do a little summary of what I’ve been up to in a few days though 🙂

Thank you for reading!

This entry was published on September 3, 2014 at 12:54 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

