My last blog post in Japan – Day 370

364 days later, my year abroad in Japan is about to end in approximately 11 hrs.

My hands are shaking as I write this post as I’m overwhelmed with emotion. It’s 5am in Japan and my flight back home to London is at 4pm – I should be sleeping right now but I’ve just come back from a 9hr karaoke session with my flat mates so I’m still buzzing!

It’s funny to think that I arrived in Japan last year on the 13th September 2013 and I’m basically leaving a whole year later (12th September 2014).

I wasn’t really sure what to do as my last post and I haven’t had much time to think about it since I’ve been packing, and I’ve had to do a lot of admin stuff with at the local city hall.

But I thought I would pick out my favourite photos for each month that I’ve been here. ENJOY!

SEPTEMBER – Fresh start

DSCF0284

Me and my bike!

Me and my bike, AKA my new best friend for the year!

DSCF0309

Making new friends

OCTOBER – Settling in

DSCF0461

My part time job at the tearoom/ my surrogate family

Bicycles Galore

Getting used to the student life in Japan

Poor Spider man

Dorm parties- Halloween!

NOVEMBER – Autumn Colours

DSCF0618

DSCF0728

DECEMBER – Celebrations

DSCF0929

21st Birthday

DSCF0975

Christmas in Japan

JANUARY – New Year shenanigans

Ta-Dah!

Japanese New Years traditions

Me having a go at pounding the mochi!

Making mochi

Me in my kimono!!

Wearing a kimono – coming of age ceremony

FEBRUARY – Half way there

DSCF1374

University trip to Nagano- snow monkeys

DSCF1298

E Building food table!

End of first semester, farewell party

MARCH – Springtime in bloom

DSCF1478

Cherry blossoms

DSCF1590

DSCF1495

Hanging out with friends

APRIL – Family time

Mid morning shot

Travelling – Mt. Fuji

By the sulphuric hot springs

Family in Japan 🙂

MAY – Round two of studying

DSCF1825

Work hard, play hard

Approaching sunrise

Tokyo Night Walk

JUNE – Getting warmer

DSCF2055

University activities

DSCF2274

Fireflies

JULY – Matsuri galore

Actual selfie from when I was trying on the yukata haha

My yukata!

DSCF2341

Tanabata Matsuri

DSCF2478

Mitama Matsuri

Waiting for the train to Tachikawa!

Going to a fireworks display, Japanese style

AUGUST – Travelling and exploring Japan

Kabira bay

OKINAWA!!

Manta rays literally swimming underneath me!

Scuba diving and snorkelling

Ready for my first session of the day!

IMG_0738

Travelling with my brother

A non-smelly deer! Haha

Kyoto/ Nara

DSCF3097

In Hokkaido

DSCF3178

SEPTEMBER – Wrapping up

Making my way to the summit

Hiking the Kanto mountain ranges

Stuffing as much Japanese food into me as possible

Stuffing as much Japanese food into me as possible

Last night in Japan - 9 hr karaoke session!

Last night in Japan – 9 hr karaoke session!

Without a doubt, this has been the best year of my life so far and I will never forget all the wonderful experiences I have had. I’ve met so many amazing people who have helped me to grow into a better person, and I’ve learnt so much as an individual not just academically but socially as well.

Although it has at times been a bit tiresome, I’m so glad that I have managed to keep this blog going for the entire duration of my year abroad and now I can proudly look back at my achievements.

I will be doing a blog post once I get back to London. I have to wrap this post up now as I have to leave for the airport in about 6hrs.

I hope you enjoyed this summary of my year abroad.

As always, thank you for reading!!

This entry was published on September 11, 2014 at 8:53 pm. It’s filed under Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “My last blog post in Japan – Day 370

  1. Fantastic photo to start the post. It could be the cover of your book.

    Thank you for sharing all the great photos : )

  2. I was amazed travelling virtually with you, dear Olivia! I’m sure you had a really special time in Japan. Someday, I hope i could go there 1 year through my studies and blogging like you, sharing my experiences along the time. You are now richer with lots of memories, new friends, new sensations. A dream came true!

  3. You look so cute! Now you have so many memories.

Leave a Reply

